Ambrosiana

The Last Supper
Andrea Bianchi
detto il Vespino (attivo 1612-1640)
oil on canvas
118 x 835 cm
Copia del Cenacolo
di Leonardo da Vinci
Prima del restauro 2012
(dettaglio)

Class of Slavonic studies

As part of the Ambrosian Academy, the Class of Slavonic Studies envisions as its field of study the subject of this name understood in a broad sense. It does not privilege a national strand of Slavonic studies, but ranges through space (East Slavs and West Slaves) and time (Medieval and Early Modern).

The specificity of the Class is conveyed by its reference to the Biblioteca Ambrosiana, understood not so much as a repository of Slavic material, but rather as an integrated cultural system. For four centuries the institution has been a place for the study of its own holdings as well as a meeting place for scholars with a view to the creation of new culture. Over the years it has itself become a generator of history, in the continuous attempt to achieve a balance between its own Ambrosian identity (in the local and ecclesiastical sense, as well as in patristic and literary terms) and openness to the non-Latin cultures that its founder, Federico Borromeo, wished it to include.

Starting from this versatility of the Ambrosiana, the Class's fields of study are not limited to the heritage of books and codices from the Slavonic area present in the Ambrosiana. They extend to the study of the figure of Ambrose and his tradition in the Slavonic linguistic and cultural fields (both in the Paleoslavonic period and in the liturgical, devotional and theological literature of the Catholic, Orthodox and Reformed areas), as well as historical research into the correspondence, gatherings and writings of the Prefects and the Fellows of the Ambrosiana, and more generally regarding the history of relations between the Ambrosiana (and therefore the Milanese area) and the Slavonic countries, from the 16th century to the present. The work of the class comprises not only literature, philosophy and the humanities, but also those disciplines that are connected to the Gallery and the Arts (painting, sculpture, architecture …) represented in it.

Five areas of work can thus be identified: the dissemination of Ambrose’s works and of the “Ambrosian tradition” (figure, cult, doctrine) in the literature and tradition of the Slavonic countries; Slavonic texts and manuscripts in Ambrosiana; the Slavonic presence in the cultural history of the Biblioteca Ambrosiana, and the presence of the Ambrosiana in the history and culture of the Slavs in the 16th-20th centuries; the Biblioteca Ambrosiana and modern and contemporary Slavonic studies, especially in the Milanese sphere; the artistic experience of the Ambrosiana in its contacts with the Slavonic world.

Organs

Chancellor
S.E. Mons. Mario Delpini, Archbishop of Milan

President
Marco Ballarini

Vice President
mons. Marco Navoni, Deputy Prefect of the Biblioteca Ambrosiana

Director
Francesco Braschi 

Executive Council 2014-2019
Braschi Francesco, Director

Brogi Bercoff Giovanna
Dell’Asta Adriano
Džurova Axinia Dobreva
Marti Roland
Pesenti Maria Chiara
Plioukhanova Maria
Ziffer Giorgio

Academicians (the asterisk indicates founding members of the Class): 
Alzati Cesare (Milano, Italia – cesarealzati@gmail.com)
Ambros Pavel (Olomouc, Repubblica Ceca – ambros@cmtf.upol.cz)
Barlieva Slavia (Sofia, Bulgaria – slavia.barlieva@gmail.com)
Benacchio Rosanna (Padova, Italia – rosanna.benacchio@unipd.it)
Bibikov Michail (Mosca, Federazione Russa – mbibikov@mail.ru)
Bojović Zlata (Belgrado, Serbia – scnet.zlata@eunet.rs)
Bonola Anna Paola (Milano, Italia – anna.bonola@unicatt.it)
Brogi Bercoff Giovanna* (Roma, Italia – giovanna.brogi@gmail.com)
Codevilla Giovanni (Trieste, Italia – gcodevilla@gmail.com)
Dell’Asta Adriano* (Brescia, Italia – adriano.dellasta@unicatt.it)
Di Salvo Maria* (Milano, Italia – disalvomaria@libero.it)
Džurova Axinia* (Sofia, Bulgaria – centre_dujcev@abv.bg)
Filonenko Aleksandr (Charkiv, Ucraina – afilonenko@yandex.ua)
Franczak Grzegorz (Milano, Italia – grzegorz.franczak@unimi.it)
Garzaniti Marcello (Firenze, Italia – marcello.garzaniti@unifi.it)
Garzonio Stefano (Pisa, Italia – garzonio@ling.unipi.it)
Goldblatt Harvey (New Haven, Connecticut, USA – harvey.goldblatt@yale.edu)
Graciotti Sante* (Roma, Italia – santegraciotti@tiscalinet.it)
Hannick Christian* (Würzburg, Germania – hannick@mail.uni-wuerzburg.de)
Lomagistro Barbara (Bari, Italia – barbara.lomagistro@lingue.uniba.it)
Marcialis Nicoletta (Roma, Italia – marcialis@lettere.uniroma2.it)
Marinelli Luigi (Roma, Italia – luigi.marinelli@uniroma1.it)
Marti Roland Walter* (Saarbrücken, Germania – rwmslav@mx.uni-saarland.de)
Mikołajczak Aleksander Wojciech* (Poznań, Polonia – mawal@amu.edu.pl)
Naumow Aleksander E.* (Venezia, Italia – anaumow@unive.it)
Niedźwiedź Jakub (Cracovia, Polonia – jakub.niedzwiedz@uj.edu.pl)
Pesenti Maria Chiara* (Bergamo, Italia – macpes@unibg.it)
Petrović Ivanka* (Zagabria, Croazia – ivanka.petrovic@stin.hr)
Plioukhanova Maria (Perugia, Italia – maria.plioukhanova@unipg.it)
Rothe Hans (Bonn, Germania – h.rote@uni-bonn.de)
Sedakova Ol’ga (Mosca, Russia – osedakova@mail.ru)
Semjačko Svetlana (San Pietroburgo, Russia – svetlanasm08@mail.ru)
Sigov Konstantin (Kyїv, Ucraina – constantin.sigov@gmail.com)
Stantchev Krassimir* (Roma, Italia – krassimir.stantchev@uniroma3.it)
Stern Dieter (Gand/Gent, Belgio – Dieter.Stern@ugent.be)
Temčinas Sergejus (Vilnius, Lithuania – sergejus.temcinas@flf.vu.lt)
Totomanova Anna-Maria (Sofia, Bulgaria – atotomanova@abv.bg)
Turilov Anatolij A. (Mosca, Russia – aaturilov@gmail.com)
Velinova Vassja* (Sofia, Bulgaria – vassja.velinova@abv.bg)
Vitale Serena (Milano, Italia – serena.vitale@unicatt.it)
Voss Christian (Berlino, Germania – christian.voss@staff.hu-berlin.de)
+ Zhivov Viktor (2009-2013)
Ziffer Giorgio* (Udine, Italia – giorgio.ziffer@uniud.it)

Accademici onorari
Ivanov Ivo* (Sofia, Bulgaria – ivo.j.ivanov@gmail.com)
Křesálková Jitka (Bergamo, Italia – jitka.kresalkova@gmail.com)

Honorary Academicians
Bartolini Maria Grazia (Milano, Italia – maria.bartolini@unimi.it)
Calusio Maurizia (Milano, Italia – maurizia.calusio@unicatt.it)
Freda Piredda Elena (Milano, Italia – elena.fredapiredda@unicatt.it)
Gherbezza Ettore (Udine, Italia – ettore.gherbezza@uniud.it)
Scarpa Marco (Venezia, Italia – marco.scarpa@unive.it)
Trovesi Andrea (Roma, Italia – andrea.trovesi@uniroma1.it)

Officials
Calusio Maurizia, Editorial secretary
Freda Piredda Elena, Academic secretary

WHAT’S ON

AMBROSIANA CLOSED TO THE PUBLIC FROM DECEMBER 4 TO 7 INCLUDED

Ambrosiana

AMBROSIANA CLOSED TO THE PUBLIC FROM DECEMBER 4 TO 7 INCLUDED

We inform the kind visitors of the Pinacoteca and scholars attending the Library's reading room that the Ambrosiana will be closed to the public from December 4 to 7 included.

13/11/2019
NEWS
I nodi della memoria. Concezioni e pratiche della memoria nel periodo borromaico

Accademia

I nodi della memoria. Concezioni e pratiche della memoria nel periodo borromaico

The lectures will be grouped into three "knots":"Memory and Christianity, from Augustine to the Modern Age", "Memory in performative and missionary practices" and "Practices of Memory and Mission: from Europe to the Overseas Worlds".

27/11/2019-28/11/2019
DIES ACCADEMICI
The new Digital Library of the Veneranda Biblioteca Ambrosiana

Biblioteca

The new Digital Library of the Veneranda Biblioteca Ambrosiana

The new Ambrosiana Digital Library was created with the aim of enhancing the main funds (inf., Sup., S.P. and Trotti) through digitization and public and free dissemination via the Internet.

07/11/2019-07/11/2019
Presentation
DANTE AND EUROPE IN THE NINETEENTH CENTURY

Biblioteca

DANTE AND EUROPE IN THE NINETEENTH CENTURY

The series of lectures Dante and Europe in the nineteenth century investigates the fortune of the Poet among leading figures of nineteenth-century European culture.

28/03/2019-21/11/2019
CONFERENCE